Research and Development

Compare to small molecule drugs, biologics are superior in clinical treatment due to their higher specificity and lower side effects. In recent years, monoclonal antibody drug is considered to have the most potential and has become the driving force in the rapid developing biologics market. Seven out of top 10 biopharmaceuticals in 2019 were monoclonal antibody drugs with total revenue of $6472.3 million USD. 

Antibody is a Y-shaped molecule about 150 kd in size. The Fab region is where the antibody binds to antigen, and the Fc region decides antibody effector function. Most available antibody drugs on the market are IgG1, and the Asn297 of the Fc region of IgG1 is often modified by glycan, which display very heterogeneous structures. Actually, the structure of this glycan changes with expression system. Therefore, most antibody drugs on the market are mainly manufactured using CHO cells, which can produce glycans with the structure most similar to glycan structure from human, to avoid undesired side-effects. Moreover, because the structure of glycan on the antibody is related to the antibody effector function, major pharmaceutical companies have been devoting manpower and resources into improving monoclonal antibody efficacy through glycan structure modification. Subsequently, many glycoengineered antibody drugs, such as Poteligeo, Gazyva, Fasenra, and Blenrep, were approved by FDA between 2012 and 2020. The prospect of monoclonal antibody drugs is recognized and approved by the market.However, the antibody drugs made by these glyco-engineering technologies mainly increase the Antibody Dependent Cell-mediated Cytotoxicity (ADCC) of the antibody. The figure below shows that the structure of glycans on the the antibody Fc region can be different from various types. The activated or inhibitory Fc receptor binding on immune cells affects the activation or inhibitory effect of the immune cells. Therefore, the structure of the glycan on the antibody Fc region is not only affected ADCC. The key technology of CHO PHARMA INC., “CHOptimaxTM” will be the best tool for understanding and regulating the function of antibodies and immune cells. It is also the unique technology of CHO PHARMA INC., leading the world.



Different from other glycoengineering technology that increases antibody efficacy by modifying glycogenes of production cell line in-vivo, CHO Pharma Inc. has developed a revolutionary glycochemical engineering technology platform, CHOptimaxTM, to improve antibody efficacy. Comparison of the methods is illustrated in the table:



In short, CHOptimaxTM can develop homogenous antibody drugs that have higher efficacy, lower side-effect, and specific CMC. CHOptimaxTM can rapidly produce specific human homogenous antibody drugs containing the fully human glycan structure, particularly the two 2-6 sialic acids in the terminal site of glycan structure, which cannot be produced by any other available glycoengineering technology.

Since its founding, CHO Pharma Inc. has been translating exclusive authorization of academic research results, such as glycoprotein, carbohydrate-based vaccine, glycan microarray, and glyco-probe, from Academia Sinica into industrial development technology. Moreover, the company has been focusing on improving the innovative platform technology, laying out global patent scheme, developing glycan related technology platform to ultimately develop new generation of antibody drugs. Furthermore, we will continue to dedicate appropriate resource for exploratory research in cancers and autoimmune diseases to improve treatment efficacy and extend the pipeline. Finally, we will continue to secure patents in glycan, enzyme, and production process to ensure our global leadership.

研究與發展

相較於小分子藥物,生物藥品具有較高的專一辨識性與較低的副作用,因而有臨床治療上之絕對優勢。近年快速發展的生物藥品市場中,以單株抗體藥物最具發展潛力,也成為驅動生物藥品市場成長的關鍵動力。2019年前十大生物藥品中,有7個是單株抗體,合計銷售總額為647.23億美元。

抗體為一Y型結構大小為150kd左右生物分子,其Fab區塊扮演與抗原結合的角色,而Fc區塊則與抗體分子的功效息息相關。目前市售的抗體大都是屬於IgG1,而IgG1 Fc的第297個氨基酸通常會有醣分子修飾,這個醣分子的結構並非單一,且其結構會隨著生產系統的不同而產生改變。也因此目前市售的抗體藥物主要是選擇能產出與人類醣分子結構最接近的CHO細胞來生產,以避免產生可能的副作用。由於抗體上醣分子結構與抗體的功效相關,近年來,透過醣體結構修飾以增進抗體功效之新世代單株抗體更是各大藥廠競相投入資源開發的重要方向,利用醣化工程所製成之抗體藥物Poteligeo、Gazyva、Fasenra及Blenrep於2012~2020年間陸續被FDA核准,使該領域之前景更為市場所認同。

相較於目前世界上其它醣化工程大都是利用體內改造生產細胞株之醣化基因來達到增強抗體功效的方法,醣基生醫所發展出的革命性方式乃是領先全球可增強抗體功效之獨家專利技術平台CHOptimaxTM。兩者的比較如下表所示:



總而言之本公司擁有的CHOptimaxTM技術平台,所開發出的均相化抗體可較傳統抗體藥物更有效、副作用小、或無免疫反應,且CMC明確。更能快速製造出現有醣化工程技術所無法產出之人體特有具特殊功效的含唾液酸之均相化抗體藥物。

公司成立至今,除了致力於將自中研院取得全球專屬授權,包括醣蛋白、醣疫苗、醣晶片、醣探針等系列產品之學術研發成果轉譯成可產業開發的技術、持續強化創新平台技術、完善全球的專利佈局、深耕醣類相關技術平台、將之運用於厚植新穎性抗體藥物開發能量以及進行新世代抗體藥物的開發。針對癌症及免疫疾病等醫療需求未被滿足或其療效有待改善之疾病用藥,本公司持續投入適度的資源進行探索性的研發計畫,以期有源源不斷的產品線。並將持續擴充醣體、酵素與製程的相關專利,確保國際領先地位。