Scientific Advisory Board, SAB

Chair Chi-huey Wong

Dr. Chi-huey Wong is the former President of Academia Sinica. His expertise is bioorganic and synthetic chemistry, especially in carbohydrate chemistry and chemical biology. Before returning to Taiwan, he served as Ernest Hahn Professor of Chemistry at The Scripps Research Institute. He has received many awards and honors for his scientific work. He was elected as an academician of Taiwan's Academia Sinica in 1994, a member of the American Academy of Arts and Science in 1996, and a member of US National Academy of Science in 2002. He was also awarded the American Chemical Society A. C. Cope Medal (2012), the Wolf Prize in Chemistry, Israel (2014) and the Robert Robinson Award of the Royal Society of Chemistry, UK (2015).

Committee Members Shaw T. Chen

Dr. Shaw T. Chen is currently the Executive Vice President of Regulatory Affairs at Polaris Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Dr. Chen had previously been with US FDA for over 26 years in new drug development as a primary/supervisory medical staff. He most recently was Deputy Director, Office of Drug Evaluation, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research at the FDA. He also serves as the Consultant to the Biotechnology Technical Committee of Executive Yuan Taiwan.

Committee Members Pan-Chyr Yang

Dr. Yang is Chair Professor in the Department of Internal Medicine, National Taiwan University College of Medicine. He was the former President of National Taiwan University. His major research interests are pulmonary and critical care medicine, lung cancer genomics and precision medicine. He was elected as member of Academia Sinica in 2006 and the World Academic of Science in 2008 as well as the National Academy of Inventors USA in 2015 because of his contributions in leading the translational research and implementation of precision medicine for lung cancer, which have significantly improved the survival in lung cancer patients in Taiwan. His research group identified novel biomarkers and pathways that associated with lung cancer risk and progression. They successfully established new platforms of theragnostic application of aptamer, lung cancer stem cell (CSC) research and CSC/microenvironment directed therapy that may be beneficial and improve treatment outcome of lung cancer patients.

Committee Members Kuo-I Lin

Dr. Kuo-I Lin is currently a Full Research Fellow at Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica. She received her Ph.D. (1998) in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology from The Johns Hopkins University. She then worked at Columbia University as a postdoctoral fellow studying immunology and B cell biology. She has also been appointed as adjunct Associate Professor in Institute of Immunology, National Taiwan University since 2010.

Committee Members Che Alex Ma

Dr. Che Alex Ma is currently a Principal Investigator at Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica. He is an expert in the structure and function of membrane proteins and glycoproteins and has focused on research of new antibiotics and influenza vaccine. He was elected as Taiwan Bio-Development Foundation chair in Biotechnology in 2014.